1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How to plan using children's interests

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by Ariel13, Dec 29, 2011.

1. Hello
    <table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"><tr><td class="post">I am taking over a reception class due to maternity cover and the teacher has told me that the planning is child informed.
    She has given me the topics and ELGs to cover over the next 2 terms (LTP)
    How do I do a MTP if I don't know what the children are interested in?
    Do I just do weekly plans?
    We are due OFSTED so am worried about what to show them planning wise.
    If anyone has any examples or thoughts I welcome anything and everything!!!
    Also I am new to EY - do you have to cover the ELG's at a certain point in the year or in any order?
    Thanks in advance!!!
    </td></tr></table>

2. Is there an early years coordinator/manager/phase leader you could ask? It's difficult to see how you can plan from children's interests while following a MTP and a set topic, although the topic might be flexible and general enough to allow for the introduction of children's ideas and preferences. What is the topic? it also seems a little odd to address ELGs in separate blocks, as they are so closely interrelated, and as children's responses would usually inform next steps.Hopefully a chat with someone senior will be able to clarify it all.

3. Hi thanks for your reply.
    The EY coordinator is the teacher I am replacing!