1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How to plan a Literacy unit of work

Discussion in 'Primary' started by jgh123, Mar 12, 2012.

1. Hiya,
    I'm in my second year of teaching and have never fully understood how to plan a literacy unit of work. I have always had my planning given to me (on placements) and then when I started as an NQT last year the fellow year 5 teacher gave me her planning and wouldn't change it, so I have never really been shown how to plan in. I was to start putting my own stamp on things and actually understanding what I am teaching!
    For example, atm I am doing legends. I know there is example planning on the frameowkr but even that doesnt make sense. Just any advice or tips on how people plan a unit would be really useful.
    Thank You

2. Hiya,
    I'm in my second year of teaching and have never fully understood how to plan a literacy unit of work. I have always had my planning given to me (on placements) and then when I started as an NQT last year the fellow year 5 teacher gave me her planning and wouldn't change it, so I have never really been shown how to plan in. I was to start putting my own stamp on things and actually understanding what I am teaching!
    For example, atm I am doing legends. I know there is example planning on the frameowkr but even that doesnt make sense. Just any advice or tips on how people plan a unit would be really useful.
    Thank You

3. tafkam

tafkam Occasional commenter

I can't speak for Literacy specifically, as I've never taught it discretely. However, my general rule of thumb is to work backwards.