1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How to interest a challenging class of 10 year olds.

Discussion in 'Music' started by joyfulflute, Jan 10, 2011.

1. I have been a visiting classroom music teacher for some time, but this term I have been moved to a different set of schools. I have always enjoyed the job and my pupils have usually enjoyed my lessons and have achieved targets. However in one new school I have a very challenging class who mess about, shout out silly comments and laugh outrageously at everything they are asked to do.They refuse to try to sing properly, and seem to belt out songs at the top of their voices in a monotone, or make up silly voices. (I am pretty sure this is not down to inability to sing, they are at it!) They continually ask when their old music teacher is coming back. This is extremely deflating and exhausting. I have always tried to make music lessons fun and purposeful, but in this class it is no fun for anyone and I'm not sure how much learning is going on. I began the term teaching tried and tested lessons that have been successful with past classes.

I have taught challenging classes before, but this one is something else.

Any tips or encouragement would be appreciated. Or any fabulous lesson or song ideas that might be a hit would help.

Thanks

2. TreesK

TreesK New commenter

Poor you ! How grim.
    Talk to their teacher - are they like this a lot and what strategies does she use? Also, what was the previous music teacher like ? It's quite possible that they were allowed to get away with this sort of thing with him/her, so they are unwilling to start making an effort.