1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How to go about teaching in Australia

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by vharvey5, Dec 1, 2011.

1. vharvey5

vharvey5 New commenter

Hi all,

I would really appreciate some help.

I am currently in Australia on a Working Holiday Visa visiting family, but I have been a primary school teacher for 5 years in the UK.

I am interested in looking into teaching opportunities over here, but applying directly is not as easy as it is in the UK nor as straight forward it seems!

I know of people from the UK who have taught in Australia and I was just wondering if there are any tips on how to go about it? I wouldn't mind looking into teaching over here for a year or so. To be honest, any info would be great. For examples, what do people think of the agencies? Any recommendations?

Thanks

2. vharvey5

vharvey5 New commenter

Hey,

Thanks for the reply. Yeah I have applied to the state (WA), got all my certificates certified etc etc (finally!) and I am awaiting that, hoping to do relief teaching for a start...I just wondered if there was another route into teaching out here on a slightly more perminant basis, as the way jobs are advertised out here seems very different... From what I have seen, you are applying to a pool for a time when a job might come up, it is not necessarily the case that there is one there to apply for at the time!

Thanks I will look into Smart teachers, I have heard of them but don't know much about them. I am sure I have heard of people from the UK teaching out here for just a year, maybe through an organisation? I was wondering if anyone knew about that? Otherwise, on the visa I have, I suppose supply is the way forward!