1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How to get a leadership job without experience?

Discussion in 'Senior Leadership Team' started by educadoralisa, Mar 22, 2019.

1. educadoralisa

educadoralisa New commenter

I'm an eyfs teacher and I've been working for many years as a class teacher. I'm studying a MA on leadership and I'm a subject leader in my school. I'm looking in becoming an Eyfs leader and have been shortlisted for two interviews. Both feedback was "you are an amazing and strong candidate but you don't have experience in being an eyfs leader so we chose the other candidate. Keep applying and you will get a job." Unfortunately I'm now feeling that I will never get the experience as I cannot get a leadership job. How can I change this? What can I do to give me the experience they are looking for?
    Thanks

2. Skeoch

Skeoch Lead commenter

Talk to your HT. What roles, tasks, projects can you do that will benefit the school and give you the experience you seek?

EGO8 likes this.
  3. pi r squared

pi r squared New commenter