1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How to get a job

Discussion in 'Headteachers' started by sulis, Dec 19, 2011.

1. Hello all,
    just want a bit of advice, I'm a History teacher with 10 years experience; 4 as a permanent teacher and 6 as supply doing long term contracts - no fault of my own, due to way things have been allowed to go. I'm not even being called for interview now ( I suspect because I'm mps 6), stuck at home with 5 year old and 2 year old (childcare costs of £11,000 per year just to be able to go out to work), and going completely crazy staying at home.
    I've been thinking about how to make my application stand out.
    If a letter of application dropped on your desk starting;
    "Do you like being stuck at home watching Homes under the Hammer? No neither do I - which is why I am applying for the position of History teacher at your school."
    Would it catch your eye, or would it just be too much?
    Just need to be given the chance, the last 23 interviews I've been to the job has gone to either NQT, cover supervisor or it was a set up - no headteacher or governor present at interview etc.
    I'm desparate to work again - feel like the breath has been taken out of my lungs not being able to teach! I'm having to sell my possessions to pay the bills, and I never thought I'd have to live like this again.
    Thank you for you time/advice

2. Hello all,