1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How to gage the level of a language student and how best to plan their lesson

Discussion in 'Private tutors' started by emspem86, Aug 7, 2017.

1. emspem86

emspem86 New commenter

Hi there,

I did a degree in modern languages and would like to be able to help others by tutoring Spanish, from beginners to A-Level. I would like to tutor adults for leisure or students (towards exams).

I did well in my degree and am confident at my level of Spanish to teach, but I have never taught before and am not too sure where to start!

I am familiar with the marketing side of things, but I would welcome any advice on how to actually plan a lesson and how to gage the level of a student.

Can anyone also advise of any learning materials that have worked well for them?

This may also sound strange, but I am 31 and back in my school days everything was on paper. Would students expect to be using laptops during tuition these days?

Many thanks,
    Emma

2. mathsmutt

mathsmutt Star commenter

Last edited: Aug 7, 2017
  3. phlogiston

phlogiston Star commenter

Laptops rarely feature in my tutorials, but could. I understand that there are some good language games available.

I don't do languages, but if I did, I would talk to the tutee and see what they wanted. I would also attempt a simple meet and greet conversation and see where it goes.
    For adult leisure students, I would think in terms of planning lessons around key situations - restaurants, car hire, stations, airports and the like. Think about key vocabulary and constructions.