1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How to find trustees for a UK charity?

Discussion in 'Personal' started by simon43, Jun 17, 2017.

1. simon43

simon43 New commenter

Firstly, I want to emphasize that I'm not lobbying for donations! It's advice and suggestions that I need :)

A very brief background:

I'm a British teacher, but I live and teach in south-east Asia since about 2002. I previously taught in Thailand and Laos, but since 2012, I have been teaching in Myanmar (formerly Burma).

I am very familiar with the extremes of poverty and wealth that exist in many countries in south-east Asia, and am a very practical, hands-on sort of guy. (I built 4 small hotels 'by-hand' in Thailand and I'm somewhat of a computer guru and software code-writer).

During the week, I work at an international school. But at the weekend, I give my time for free to teach at an orphanage in Myanmar. This orphanage is in a rather remote location in the hills outside the new capital city of Naypyidaw, and certainly not near any regions that are populated by expats or visited by foreign tourists.

There are no less than 800 children - orphans and 'abandoned' kids who live at this orphanage, and are cared for by the local Buddhist monks and Myanmar community. Their ages are between 0 and 18 years old.

Abandoned is not the best word to use. Most of these children have parents. However, their parents are too poor to feed, clothe and educate them. The children have a much better future life if they stay at the orphanage, where they are safe, can be clothed, fed and educated to a basic level.