1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How to claim back tax...Need the dosh!

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by Ostpreussen, Jul 10, 2011.

1. HI,
    Wonder if anyone can advise.
    I have been doing supply for ten years now - mainly agency and LEA long-term contracts.
    Am usually on emergency tax as I have been with various agencies over the years and never had the single person's threshold and paid a load of tax.
    I know you can only claim for the last 6 tax years, but how do I do it?
    Not sure I have the relevant payslips and P45s. Have some, but would the tax office have a record of whom I have worked for and when. Would they request payment records on my behalf.
    Was going to go through the NASUWT company where you get 60% back and they keep a 40% cut? Has anyone done that. But it would be nice to get the whole let owed to me back.
    Am about to finish a year's long term postion and have no job for September. So need the money badly.
    Any advice would be great. Also - how long does it take?
    Cheers,
    Ostpreussen.

2. magic surf bus

magic surf bus Star commenter

Just ring your tax office and ask for a Tax Review for any/all of the years in question. In a few weeks they'll have totted it all up and will send a cheque for anything (and everything) they owe you.

I recently asked for a Tax Review for the last two years and got over £400 back - kerchiiing. Most of it was due to my last permanent employer deducting too much tax when I left their employ before the end of the tax year. However there was a supply-based discrepancy too.

Don't waste your time with any of those those companies that take a cut for doing something HMRC will do for free.