1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How to Become an English Teacher at an International School

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by tamarine, Jan 10, 2018.

1. tamarine

tamarine New commenter

Hello,

I am looking for advice on how to become an English teacher at an international school as I am at a crossroads in my career.

I am a mature teacher and I completed my degree in Education Studies and English in 2010. I then worked as a cover teacher for a number of years. In August 2013, one of the schools in which I worked asked me to join their permanent support staff. I worked there for one year and during that time I was also timetabled to teach English to students in years 7 to 10. This teaching opportunity allowed me to successfully attain QTLS.

In September 2014, I decided to undertake a Master’s in Education as I wanted to move overseas and I believed that this would make it easier for me to find work. By January 2015, I had completed 70 credits when I was offered a lucrative position in the Middle East at a vocational college. Originally I was told that I would be teaching English literature and language, however when I arrived I was given EAL classes to teach. Since January 2017, I have been teaching accountancy and business courses.

Having been in the Middle East for three years, I am now looking to fulfill my ambition of teaching English. I appreciate that international schools will not employ me at this present time as I lack experience; I am therefore looking for suggestions as to what I can do that will enable me to teach this subject.

Thank you in advance for any advice that you are able to provide.

2. wrldtrvlr123

wrldtrvlr123 Occasional commenter