1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How to become a supply teacher...?

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by mechanicum, Jan 18, 2019.

1. mechanicum

mechanicum New commenter

Hi All,
    I am new to supply teaching and looking to become a supply teacher, but have little to no experience of how to become one, what agencies are best etc, etc.

I just wondered if anyone had any advice on 'how to become a supply teacher' for a newbie?
    Thanks

pepper5 likes this.
  2. freshfriesan

freshfriesan Occasional commenter

Depends where you live. Local agencies better than national brands. Big yourself up, but know what you do and don't want. Primary or secondary. Mate, to be honest if you've got to come on a forum to ask that question in the day and age of Google I don't think you're cut out for it. Supply teachers do have to be able to think on their feet a bit more for themselves than that. He specific. Give a bit more information and away you go.

JohnJCazorla and pepper5 like this.
  3. agathamorse

agathamorse Senior commenter

We have a pinned thread called New to Supply. Take a look at that first for the basics and then let us know if you have any other questions. A word of warning: supply work is drying up. Read the thread all quiet on the day to day supply front.

4. les25paul

les25paul Star commenter

But the poster has come onto the internet (via Google or what ever) to find out information. :confused:

mechanicum and agathamorse like this.
  5. historygrump

historygrump Star commenter Forum guide