1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How to arrange my class seats?

Discussion in 'Education news' started by schooli, Jun 21, 2017.

1. schooli

schooli New commenter

Hi
    I am an English teacher in J.H.S .I have about 35 students in my class who sit in 4 rows.
    I would like to hear from teachers from around the globe how do you arrange your students' seats in a regular lesson and what do you do to make them interact during your lessons.

Looking forward to hearing from you
    Thanks
    Mrs. G

2. blazer

blazer Star commenter

The school I worked at for many years arranged the kids in alphabetical order by last name, To prevent the same kids being at the back all the time each subject had a particular orientation. eg science was left to right front to back. English right to left front to back. French left to right back to front . Other subjects did it in vertical rows instead of horizontal. Within that plan individual teachers could adjust settings to separate difficult pairings or to have an SEN kid closer to the front or at the end of a row for easy access. I always kept the two seats immediately in front of me empty (if I could) so that i could move kids to them temporarily in a lesson if it was required.

I produced my seating plans using a publisher sheet with a text box for each place. This made it easy to move seats around and to add new students into empty spaces. Just make a template for the classroom and use it for each class. It could also be projected onto the screen at the start of each lesson until the kids learned their spots.

3. schooli

schooli New commenter

Thanks for your prompt response
    What about putting the seats in circles?Has anyone tried it?