1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How to acclimate a new student mid-semester/mid-unit

Discussion in 'Secondary' started by llama2179, Aug 22, 2018.

1. llama2179

llama2179 New commenter

Hello,

This is my first time posting on here. A little background: I have been teaching for 15 years in various alternative high school programs throughout New York. I work with some of the most disenfranchised and at-risk students, aged 14-19. I am constantly struggling with finding literature that is of high-interest yet not too complex and definitely not the "traditional" and "classic" texts that schools often default to. Most of my students have failed out of the standard English classroom environment for various reasons and need a very different approach to learning, to read about real-world characters and situations, to be relevant, etc. With all of that said, I am constantly getting new students weeks and months into the school year. I walk into the classroom and there is a new random student, often with no warning.