1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How should Shakespeare be introduced in Primary School

Discussion in 'Primary' started by sarah120171, Feb 29, 2016.

Tags:
?

Should Shakespeare be studied as part of a Primary school curriculum.

1. Yes

10 vote(s)
    55.6%
  2. No

8 vote(s)
    44.4%
  1. sarah120171

sarah120171 New commenter

I am a trainee teacher in my second term of training. I am currently conducting research for my enhanced studies assignment and am exploring how Shakespeare can be effectively introduced into primary schools.

I am very interested in opinions about whether Shakespeare works in primary and whether it is more effective to introduce it using athematic approach or if it can work as a stand alone topic.

I would very much appreciate any experiences and views you are happy to share with me and strategies that you have found has moved children's learning forward.

Thank you in advance.

2. Studyzonetv

Studyzonetv Occasional commenter

When my head told us last year we were going to be doing Macbeth as our year 6 production, I thought she was mad! However, I have to say, the production was fantastic. This year we're doing Romeo and Juliet.

I certainly think Shakespeare can be covered in a primary school, but only have experience of acting it out rather than reading it...but then, wasn't that what Shakespeare intended?

JL48, Msz and Lara mfl 05 like this.
  3. caterpillartobutterfly

caterpillartobutterfly Star commenter

Definitely should be introduced in primary. I've used Shakespeare stories (Orchard Myths) with all of years 1 - 6 and all have enjoyed them.
    I do a bit of reading aloud with a bit of acting and then breaks for art work and some writing.