1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How much writing in literacy books?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by giraffe77, Feb 7, 2012.

1. In my role as Literacy co-ordinator, I am going to be monitoring books. Wondering how much writing in books would be expected in each year group in your schools? Is there a set target to aim for?
    Does anyone have any experience of doing this before who has any advice for me? Proformas to use, what to look for (ie headings to use), frequency of monitoring, etc.? I'm slightly worried about doing it consistently, as I've never done it before.
    Thanks in advance.

2. In my role as Literacy co-ordinator, I am going to be monitoring books. Wondering how much writing in books would be expected in each year group in your schools? Is there a set target to aim for?
    Does anyone have any experience of doing this before who has any advice for me? Proformas to use, what to look for (ie headings to use), frequency of monitoring, etc.? I'm slightly worried about doing it consistently, as I've never done it before.
    Thanks in advance.

3. Anyone?

4. I would look at the progress that the child has made in writing from when they started in September. Can progress clearly be seen? Is feedback marking making a difference and are children being given the opportunity to respond to feedback in a meaningful way? Level some of the writing and compare it to the teacher's assessment to check for accuracy. Is there evidence of self and peer assessment if age appropriate?