1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How much to include critics in A2 English lit coursework?

Discussion in 'English' started by sleepyhead, Apr 14, 2012.

1. sleepyhead

sleepyhead New commenter

I teach the B spec so I am NOT an expert on this - but I've just looked at the spec, and I can't see any way around this. They HAVE to consider critical opinions no matter what grade they're looking at. They won't necessarily name them or quote from them, but they do need to consider them to meet the criteria.

2. I teach this spec. My understanding is that the coursework title should have a critical view in it, followed by 'how far do you agree...'. This will then give the candidate a chance to debate with a view, hitting part of AO3. A good debate will also look at the counter-viewpoint for higher achieving candidates. I wouldn't say that naming critics is necessary - just an ability to demonstrate a range of viewpoints, backed up by reference to the text. Remember, AO3 is predominately looking at comparisons. Of course, some of my students included critical opinions, but only the A/A* students managed to integrate it successfully into their argument. Lower abilities just tended to 'bolt on' a viewpoint.

Also, it helps to perhaps give a feminist or marxist reading of the texts. This again hits the 'critical' views part of AO3.

3. GloriaSunshine

GloriaSunshine New commenter