1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How much should I expect?

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by TexanTeacher2013, Oct 11, 2018.

1. TexanTeacher2013

TexanTeacher2013 New commenter

Hello experienced expats,

I'm an American teacher with 6 years of experience teaching intermediate English/LanguageArts, and I have a B.Ed and an M.Ed. Last summer, I was offered 13k AED to teach at a tough school in Dubai. They informed me that schools in Dubai do not pay much more regardless of experience or degrees. I declined the position because I truly I didn't think it was enough. My question, what is an acceptable range of compensation (AED) based on my education and experience. I don't want to low ball myself, but neither seem arrogant. Additionally, I have an upcoming interview in China, so this question applies to CYN as well.

2. amysdad

amysdad Established commenter

You can't just look at the basic salary - you need to take into account the whole package and also the overall cost of living. I can see how that salary in Dubai might not go far, but in China the equivalent amount of RMB would actually be quite comfortable. Also, in China there are a number of parts of your package which are there to avoid (legally) paying tax, although the government is closing those loopholes over time.

In total, I'd say you should be looking at a minimum of 250,000RMB per year in actual salary, with other benefits such as housing (usually around another 130 - 150,000RMB p.a.), health insurance, etc being added on to that. Both my wife & I have a package which is based around that and we are able to live comfortably on one salary (even with a teenager) while sending another home.

3. stopwatch