1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

how much for supply?

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by jubilada, Aug 30, 2011.

1. jubilada

jubilada New commenter

I know rates vary, but what is the minimum you could be paid for a day of supply in an English primary school? I ask because changes in the way supply teachers are paid in Scotland means supply teachers now get £78 (gross) for a day's cover. This is a big drop in salary for many supply teachers. How does it compare with rates south of the border?

2. Rates do vary. As an experienced teacher I get £110 to £130 per day depending on the agency. In my experience rates have gradually dropped over the last few years, with agencies saying it is because schools are not willing to pay as much and shopping around more. £78 sounds derisory to me. Would that be for any teacher or would it be for NQTs?

3. £78 is less than a supply teacher would earn fifteen years ago.

4. magic surf bus

magic surf bus Star commenter

The least I've been paid is £10 an hour for CS work (£65 a day), the most is being paid to scale. Agency flat rate for me is £135, but that's pretty generous compared to many, and agencies do vary greatly.

5. The least I have been offered is nothing! Several times, including just recently, I have been contacted, asking whether I would be interested in an NRP (non-remunerative position - I had to ask, too). The idea is, it was explained, that it would enable me to get recent experience and would look good on my CV.

6. les25paul

les25paul Star commenter

Next they will be calling with the "opportunity" to get recent experience that would look good on a CV for a "modest" fee.

7. jubilee

jubilee Lead commenter