1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How much do you rely on texts to teach/test learning

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by nearlyfriday, Mar 28, 2011.

1. I'm a science teacher teaching maths, currently to foundation level GCSE. With all the new way s of doing 'things', pupil centred learning, consideration of VAK, plts etc.. i'm having a bit of a crisis with the amount of " try exercise 23C Q.4-9" I should use in lesson. (by the way we are a special school with only 2 maths teachers)
    When observing - other school maths lessons MYMATHS features a lot (which i cant use as i dont have a projector) i'm trying to produce worksheets which seem to be just exercises that i made that you would find in texts and i introduce games etc
    honest answers needed to how much do you use texts in lessons.
    thanx
    ps. any resource pointers would be greatfully accepted too
    nf

2. I pretty much make it up as I go along and then, occasionally, I remember that there is a set of texts on the side that I could use rather than making my own questions

3. In your situation I would demand a good text book for your set from the department.
    It's hard changing subject. You need a reliable starting point to adapt and develop from.
    You can't be 'all singing, all dancing' straight away. This is the real world! It takes time to build up a repetoire of other stuff and if you're spending a lot of time writing exercises you could find in books, you're not using your time wisely.
    If your students are bottom end foundation GCSE you may also find pack of Entry Level materials and Adult Numeracy resources useful.