1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How many?

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by onyerbike, Apr 7, 2020.

1. onyerbike

onyerbike New commenter

As a supply teacher I am registered with several agencies. I can't say I have work all the time but I can usually get offered 3 of 4 days in a week and usually at a school I have visited previously. The agencies all contacted me last week to say they will furlough me if I agree but I am unsure about this being acceptable. I have contacted the largest agency's payroll dept. but they said they don't know yet if more than 1 agency can furlough the same person and are waiting for more government guidelines. I am sure there are a lot of us in this situation and wondered what others think.

gingerhobo48 likes this.
  2. john1207

john1207 New commenter

3. john1207

john1207 New commenter

Are you paid directly by the agency or an umbrella company paye?

4. steviepal

steviepal Occasional commenter

From what I've read you can be furloughed by as many employers as you've working. for

Happyregardless and pepper5 like this.
  5. Yoda-

Yoda- Lead commenter

If you currently have more than one employer
    You can be put on furlough by one employer and continue to work for another. If you’re put on furlough by more than one employer, you’ll receive separate payments from each employer. The 80% of your regular wage up to a £2,500 monthly cap applies to each job.

https://www.gov.uk/guidance/check-if-you-could-be-covered-by-the-coronavirus-job-retention-scheme

They ( gov.uk) say yes you can have more than one employer furlough you.
    It is fair because of the way each one will calculate the amount you receive....