1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How many years teaching IB before I can leave?

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by MyLastDuchess, Dec 1, 2015.

1. MyLastDuchess

MyLastDuchess New commenter

I'm at a school that is OK, but I've been here 5 years and am ready for a different location. However, this is my first year teaching IB. I am assuming that I should stay for one IB cycle before moving on: is this enough? I'd plan to complete this year and next year, and plan to leave the following year. Does this sound reasonable, or do I need more than 2 years of IB experience to make me a desirable candidate? I'd like to try for one of the big name schools in Western Europe next, so I'd love some realistic advice.

2. mikemcdonald25

mikemcdonald25 Occasional commenter

I'd like to know which are the big name schools in Western Europe? Damn, we can't mention schools by name!

3. percy topliss

percy topliss Established commenter

Hogwarts and Durmstrang for certain. After those it could be any German ones with more than 22 letters in its name!

Perce

4. TimeBomb2015

TimeBomb2015 Occasional commenter

Percy, as Hogwarts is a real place - did you not know they made various documentaries about it? - I have reported your post and expect your imminent banning from this forum.

So there!:mad:

5. TimeBomb2015

1. Two years would be good enough to start applying to good schools elsewhere.
    2. Some understand this desire, personally I never have.

6. David Getling

David Getling Lead commenter