1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How many NC points progress is expected in year 1?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by anansie_uk, May 20, 2012.

1. Hello,
    I'm in my first year of teaching and am trying to work out if my class has made good progress against average expectations. 23 out of 30 were around p scale 5 when I got them with a pocket of 8 working at 1c. They are a year 1 class so what would be the expected points progress over the year? Is it six points a year which will take them one level up? Can't seem to find a clear answer either at school or online. Thanks for any help!

2. Hello,
    I'm in my first year of teaching and am trying to work out if my class has made good progress against average expectations. 23 out of 30 were around p scale 5 when I got them with a pocket of 8 working at 1c. They are a year 1 class so what would be the expected points progress over the year? Is it six points a year which will take them one level up? Can't seem to find a clear answer either at school or online. Thanks for any help!

3. They should have come up still on the EYFS profile, not on P scales. P scales shouldn't be used at this stage at the beginning of Year 1. In my school they transfer the ones still on the profile at Easter over to the P scales, but I know some schools do this after Christmas. Do you mean a 5 on the profile?