1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How many jobs did you apply for?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by rugby_gal06, Apr 20, 2011.

1. How many teaching jobs did you apply for before you secured your first post?

2. inq

inq

Two.

3. minnieminx

minnieminx New commenter

One.
    But that was in the olden days when there was a huge shortage of secondary maths teachers. I was interviewed in the penultimate week of the summer term, no lesson observation or tasks or any of that nonsense. Just an interview.

6 candidates, 2 jobs. I got one of them.

4. None, but I was a GTP student at my school (having been employed there as a TA) and was fortunate to be appointed to a permanent position as my GTP year finished.
    However, the competition is very fierce now. A friend of mine went for a job recently and the headteacher was showing potential candidates around the school <u> in groups of 20</u> ! There were around 140 applicants being shown round !

5. CarrieV

CarrieV Lead commenter

Dozens! However that was in the North West where 3 training colleges in 50 miles were churning out hundreds of NQT's each year! One post I applied for had 460 applicants! I eventually decided to move 250 miles acros country and got the first job I applied for!

6. Loony tunes

Loony tunes New commenter