1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How many hours do teachers work per week?

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by Sillow, Dec 29, 2010.

1. Sillow

Sillow Senior commenter

I'm in my second year of teaching and I get to school about 7:45am, work through half my lunch break and leave about 6pm (including 3 afterschool clubs a week and meetings). At home I will occasionally have marking to do, which is about 3 hours, and will sometimes work at weekends for 2-3 hours doing planning or resources if necessary.
    Do bear in mind, though, that different schools can demand different amounts of "extra" work. For example, my school is not doing APP and we aren't required to hand in minutely detailed plans in advance. Also, during training and NQT the workload is considerably more, as you collect evidence towards the standards, plan every lesson in detail (although not all NQTs are required to do this by their school) and evaluate all you do. I have known students/NQTs/teachers in other schools who did 7am-6pm in school, followed by another 4 hours at home, due to different demands in paperwork/marking expectations/APP etc. etc..
    Be prepared for long hours!

2. littlemissraw

littlemissraw Occasional commenter

In my NQT (last year) I worked from 8am (arrival into school) until 1am, with about 15 min for lunch and 1 hour for tea. This was with the exception of Friday evening when I left work at half 3 and did no work all evening in order to spend some quality time with my OH. Sometimes I had Saturdays off but I rarely had a Sunday off (unless I'd switched them so I could have a night out).