1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How many applications before you got an interview and appointment?

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by marilyn2, Nov 11, 2019.

1. marilyn2

marilyn2 New commenter

Hi there,
    Feeling quite despondent about lack of success with my applications. Am I needlessly panicking? Is it early days? I’m applying for positions but hearing nothing back. Should I hope to see more jobs out soon? I’ve not seen loads so far. Do lower tier advertise in the new year?

I’ve got plenty of teaching experience including internationally (got an early appointment so not applied at this time of year before) and I think a good cv, statement, good references etc, I’ve had colleagues look at cv etc.. and say it’s good. Applying for a mix of schools, not worried about tier.

I’m not sure how long to give it before throwing in the towel... any advice how to stay motivated would be gratefully received...
    Thank you
    M

2. Leonardo1983

Leonardo1983 New commenter

Dont despair, this is very early in the season. My school asks for intentions in the first week of Jan and i know some schools are advertising now just to have a catalogue of CVs ready to go through when resignations come in after Xmas.

For my current position I applied in March.

grdwdgrrrl and marilyn2 like this.
  3. T0nyGT

T0nyGT Lead commenter

You're going to throw in the towel in November???

The recruitment season has only just really started (well, ok about a month ago but it's just starting to speed up).