1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How long should you spend in one year group?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by kevinjames12, Feb 5, 2012.

1. Hi all,

I am currently a Year 2 teacher and, although I like the year group, I find that the children are a bit too young for me still. My professional preference is with KS2 and I would like to move out of KS1 asap. However, how long should you spend in a year group before requesting to move up? KS1 has definitely taught me how to simplify things and develop good questioning skills but I''m now ready to start teaching higher up in the primary school.

Cheers,

Kev

2. nick909

nick909 Star commenter

I'd suggest it's often a good idea to spend at least 2 years in a year group, especially if you're new to teaching. It gives you a chance to refine your practice, choosing what worked last year and modifying what didn't, all while having a degree of familiarity with the planning and expectations. A consolidation year, so to speak.
    Don't forget - although you can express a preference, your head will make the decision as to where you teach, based on what is felt to be best for the children, whose needs will always come before staff's.

3. nick909

nick909 Star commenter