1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How long before a pay increase in UPS?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by humpty88, Oct 17, 2016.

1. humpty88

humpty88 New commenter

Hi. I am a UPS teacher and have recently had a very successful appraisal. I was wondering if anyone has had experience of having a pay increase on the UPS after one year. The NASUWT say that pay increases after one year on UPS should happen like it does on MPS or have I been misinformed?

2. MissHallEnglish

MissHallEnglish Occasional commenter Forum guide and community helper

It's every other for UPS increments in our place. However, I'm not sure whether that's right either!

3. grumpydogwoman

grumpydogwoman Star commenter

There's a bit more to it than that so I shall refer you to my friend google.

"UPS progression teaching"

Look at the NUT pdf.

4. Rott Weiler

Rott Weiler Star commenter Forum guide

Like most things concerning pay there are few rules nowadays - even fewer if you are not on STPCD - and you need to look at your own school's Pay Policy. It can say that progress on UPS can be after one year if that's what governors have chosen to do but most policies follow the previous statutory rule that progress can only take place after two years.

strawbs and DYNAMO67 like this.
  5. grumpydogwoman

Seemingly you have to have a minimum of two successful rounds of annual appraisal under your belt so that's two years and is in line with what happens at the school where @cate_h works.

That's what the NUT says but it's pretty fiendish these days which is why I didn't cut and paste.

6. Rott Weiler

Rott Weiler Star commenter Forum guide