1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How likely am I to find a new primary teaching job for a January/May start?

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by Pl501, Nov 28, 2019.

?

Are there always opportunities in January/May for teachers looking to change schools?

1. Yes

2 vote(s)
    66.7%
  2. No

1 vote(s)
    33.3%
  1. Pl501

Pl501 New commenter

Hello!

I'm a primary school teacher currently hating my work environment and hoping to leave asap! The only reason I'm still at my current school, is because I'm on maternity leave and knew I had to make the most of it in order to have the extra maternity pay.

As I have to work 3 months (a term) in order to keep my extra maternity allowance, I am wondering whether to go back this coming September (2020) in order to hopefully find a new role for January (2021), or whether to go back in January (2021) for a new role at Easter (2021).

I've only ever started jobs in September, so am not sure what the likelihood of finding a new role midyear would be. Any advice from anyone who's started a job midyear, or who knows more would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

2. Pomza

Pomza Star commenter

There are always vacancies, at all times of the year, and moving schools at Xmas/Easter is not unusual.

3. ViolaClef

ViolaClef Lead commenter