1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How is reading comprehension been teached in other countries

Discussion in 'Primary' started by pietermeester, Oct 29, 2018.

1. pietermeester

pietermeester New commenter

Dear people,

I’m Pieter from the Netherlands. I am a Dutch teacher at a school in a small village lying in the east of the Netherlands. The age of the children I teach, lies between 8 and 9 years. Alongside my work, I’m a master student. My study is about innovative education. For my final assignment I’m researching effective reading comprehension and which teacherskills are needed to teach reading comprehension-skills effectively.

My native language is Dutch so probably (and unfortunately) I might have made some grammar mistakes, writing this letter in English. Therefor my apologies.

In the Netherlands, reading comprehension-skills and mathematic-skills are used as an important predictor for intelligence and opportunities during secondary school. The government obligated a final national test at the end of primary school. Therefor most schools in the Netherlands think it is important to teach reading comprehension as a detached schoolsubject just like history-lessons and mathematics etc. The goal of the reading comprehension lessons is to evolve reading skills. Within these reading comprehension-lessons most Dutch schools teach several reading-strategies like summarizing, predicting, questioning and/or clarifying. The texts used in these lessons, are specifically designed to use those strategies.