1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How hard is it teaching mixed aged classes?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by Misstt, Feb 25, 2009.

1. Hi all
    I am a NQT and have not had any experience of teaching mixed aged classes and so have avoided applying for those particular jobs when they come up. I know that jobs in my area are very sparse and don't want to limit myself but just feel I have no knowledge what so ever! Are classes taught dependent on ability and regardless of age? Or are objectives linked to year group thus meaning each lesson is really two mini lessons? I know some objectives link for certain topics but there must also be alot that don't. Also, how do you find planning?
    Sorry it's a bit long!
    Thanks
    Misstt

2. Hi all
    I am a NQT and have not had any experience of teaching mixed aged classes and so have avoided applying for those particular jobs when they come up. I know that jobs in my area are very sparse and don't want to limit myself but just feel I have no knowledge what so ever! Are classes taught dependent on ability and regardless of age? Or are objectives linked to year group thus meaning each lesson is really two mini lessons? I know some objectives link for certain topics but there must also be alot that don't. Also, how do you find planning?
    Sorry it's a bit long!
    Thanks
    Misstt

3. Hi