1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How far would you/do you travel to work?

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by littlemissraw, Nov 7, 2011.

1. littlemissraw

littlemissraw Occasional commenter

I worked over an hour way before (although not in teaching) If you can get in super early (work in school) and leave when the school day ends you'll avoid the major rush hour. Apply and let fate decide. xx

2. When i worked as a technician i travelled 2 and a half hours each way to school! (by walking and train as i couldn't drive at the time)
    I am looking for jobs and if it is within a two hour drive away, I have vowed to apply for it.
    I just can't afford to be picky.

3. Hello,
    I am currently looking at changing jobs and am having the same conversation with my partner. In teaching I think some prefer to work a bit further away out of the catchment area. I commuted for over five years on a 40 minute journey and the only major problems for me were the evening events. I would get in early to avoid rush hour traffic and leave either asap or stay late to avoid traffic.
    Currently, I travel for 30 minutes and am not enjoying my job as much. I am considering changing to a job that is further away and would take approximately an hour but I think my happiness in my job is more important. I think using audio CDs and giving myself time to switch off is a good use of my travel time - a nice bit of me time if you don't mind driving.
    I would also say that the cost of fuel and running your car also needs to be taken into account in this current economic climate. It is certainly one thing that has made me check my sums!