1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How does your school improve its processes?

Discussion in 'Personal' started by LeanProcessManager, Sep 5, 2017.

?

What approach does your school have to improving processes?

1. Senior managers tell people what to do

16 vote(s)
    80.0%
  2. New processes are developed together with, or by the people who have to operate them

2 vote(s)
    10.0%
  3. Representative working parties are formed

2 vote(s)
    10.0%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. LeanProcessManager

LeanProcessManager New commenter

I am new to education and would like to learn more about what other schools do.

What do you thinks works well in your school, and what does not work? How would you do things differently? Where is the biggest opportunity to save teachers time and effort by changing the processes you follow?

2. InkyP

InkyP Star commenter

My last HT tried to do it by getting rid of the older teachers. I can't say whether it worked or not as I was one of them.

3. LeanProcessManager

I am sorry to hear that. That is very unlikely to result in process improvements. Changing the workers but keeping the processes the same will inevitably have the same result.

Did you have written processes in your school or did people make it up as they went along?

4. InkyP

InkyP Star commenter

It was a new Head and the school was becoming an Academy so I expect a lot changed. That Head has now left. I'm sorry I can't be of more help.

5. LeanProcessManager

Thank you for the update. My particular interest is in business-as-usual changes. Clearly you suffered from a very radical change.

6. colpee

colpee Star commenter

Is your forum name meant to be ironic?