1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How does telling the time fit in with APP?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by dowager_countess, May 22, 2011.

1. Hi all,

I'm a Y4 teacher and I'm sure teachers in similar age groups will know how tough it can be for some children to understand the concept of time. It's tough to teach for so many reasons, including the fact that there are so many ways of saying the same thing, and that the clock face goes up to 12 and most children are familiar with base 10!

But on the APP grids all it says is...

L3 - use standard units of time, e.g.

? read a 12-hour clock and generally calculate time durations that do
    not go over the hour

· use a wider range of measures,

L4 - use units of time, e.g.

? calculate time durations that go over the hour

? read and interpret timetables

So where does reading a digital clock come into it? Or children knowing how to represent the time in 24 hour format?

What do you do about children that can just use an analogue clock and know literally just the o'clock times and quarter and half past??

I'm just struggling with my assessments at the moment as you can probably tell, any help would be great, thank you :)

2. lilykitty

lilykitty New commenter