1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How do you spend your A-Level lessons?

Discussion in 'English' started by figgins, Jan 19, 2011.

1. I have inherited an A2 class that appears to be used to sitting in a circle and being instructed by the teacher with a bit of general discussion thrown in. This is exactly how I was taught A-Level 25 years ago.
    Is that basically what people here do? I have given them some bits to research and present, but wonder if it's too late to try different approaches with this group. These are clever students who could do an awful lot more and I aware that they are all going to university soon and will need to be independent. (I have been a teacher for many years, but not done A-Level before.)

2. gruoch

gruoch New commenter

Well, it's not how they'll get As, that's for sure.
    Set them a past question and see where their strengths and weaknesses are and take it from there.

3. millicent_bystander

millicent_bystander New commenter

I agree with gruoch, you'll at least have some idea of which AOs they are strong and weak on so can plan from there.
    They will probably welcome some new approaches, intellingent students can only stagnate with such dry teaching methods. Go with the research and presentation, that's always my approach. Encourage them to be the teacher, I'm sure they'll flourish. They have to take charge of their own learning otherwise they will struggle with university.

4. It's not the talking heads, it's what the talking heads are saying that's the problem (BBC man).