1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How do you plan literacy?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by juicy274, Sep 18, 2010.

1. I am in my second year of teaching and I feel like I still don't know how to plan effectively for literacy. I find the framework very difficult to use, teaching everything through a specific genre. I feel like last year's class didn't make as must progress as they could of because I just wasn't teaching them anything useful. How do you build in all the puctuation / grammar they need to learn? How do you build up to writing a story? How do you teach the genre stuff? I find it all so difficult, I don't find the scholastic lesson plans or the hamilton trust very useful. There seems to be alot of the genre focus stuff but all the skills are missing. There is alot of speaking and listening and my school has inisted that the children should have a piece of written work at the end of every lesson.

2. Lara mfl 05

Lara mfl 05 Star commenter

Really?!!!
    I tend to use the old fashioned, word and sentence level starters for the grammar/spelling etc content and build up to a piece of writing eg intro planning 1 lesson, next writing up, main part and then ending both planned then written up. Then use peer assessment/buddy marking to spot each other's mistakes and build in next teaching around common mistakes.
    Hope that helps a little.

3. lardylegs

lardylegs Occasional commenter

Grammar for Writing might help you create some structure to your Literacy Lessons, I think you can download it all.