1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How do you manage all the marking after having a baby

Discussion in 'Parenting' started by snowcloud, Dec 5, 2011.

1. snowcloud

snowcloud New commenter

Any help and ideas welcome.

2. snowcloud

snowcloud New commenter

Any help and ideas welcome.

3. Hi, I'm guessing it depends what age and subject(s) you teach but I am a secondary languages teacher so here are some of my shortcuts...
    - peer assesing
    - setting vocab learning homeworks that they then mark in class
    - trying to do less work in books, so more speaking and role plays, computer work, display work, games etc.
    - using mini whiteboards - as above really, if we do a listening exercise there is no point in them having 1a 2b 3c or whatever in their books so we do it on mini whiteboards then I can give instant rewards (stamps) and they rub them off. They love mini wboards at my school!
    - trying to get some done in lessons - getting them to bring their work up once they've finished or going around the class with my green pen while they are working.
    I am part time and also have some Non-emplyed time at school (I'm .4 but over 2 and a half days) and haven't yet had to bring any marking home. Maybe I'm just lazy! I imagine it's tons harder, if not impossible, if you are doing English or History or similar.