1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How do you know when it's time to call it quits on a marriage?

Discussion in 'Personal' started by TroubledTeacher1, Oct 16, 2019.

1. TroubledTeacher1

TroubledTeacher1 New commenter

What signs were there and are you better for it?

Background-married almost 8 years. The constant criticism, feeling I can do nothing right and lack of support is wearing me down.

I married a true mama's boy and have a child already and another one on the way. I can't imagine still being in this position of feeling like this for the next 20 years.

And yet. I think of the kids and the future.

I am a person of colour and my culture is very anti divorce.

2. TroubledTeacher1

As a teacher I always see the kids who go to different homes at weekends, or the kids who don't like their step parents. The kids who struggle with divorce and living with both parents under different roofs. They struggle in school. As a general observation, they seem more anxious, some of them are naughtier. More stressed. Etc. Etc.

And yet, I don't know if I want to stay here anymore.

I have yet to tell my husband that I've had enough of babysitting him and being shouted at by him all the time. :/

3. smoothnewt

smoothnewt Star commenter

Sorry to read this and that you find yourself in this position. The logical first step would be to have a conversation with him about how you are feeling in response to the way he is behaving towards you. Depending on how he responds, counselling may be a way forward?

emerald52, HelenREMfan and mothorchid like this.
  4. TroubledTeacher1

If there was a way to solve things, I'd be more than happy to try them.