1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How do you get started with private tutoring and what is the nature of the work?

Discussion in 'Private tutors' started by Sylviathedog, Jan 4, 2011.

1. I've been a Primary supply teacher for many years. I love it and until recently saw no reason to do anything different. However, there is virtually no work out there now so I'm forced to look at alternatives. I registered with the government's one-to-one tuition programme in the summer, have heard nothing (apart from an acknowledgement) and don't expect to now. So, how do you get started? Is private tuition mainly for Secondary-aged rather than Primary-aged children? What are the rates of pay? Is the work mainly based around studying for entrance exams or is it helping those who are struggling? Is there any LEA funded work around (for children who are off school long term) or is it all funded privately by the parents? Also, what are the hours like? Is it mainly after-school and evenings or can it take place during the school day?