1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How do you bring up that you're looking for another job to your HT?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by lejanderson, Mar 24, 2012.

1. lejanderson

lejanderson New commenter

Hi everyone, hoping to get some advice from people who have had this experience.
    I'm currently looking for another job. I'm in my second year of teaching and job satisfaction is currently very low. The man-management skills at my school aren't the best at times and I feel that, as a new teacher, I could have been supported better. On reflection I think my confidence has been chipped away at for the past two years. Overriding this is that, in general, I'm not very happy with my living situation. When I took this job, I moved to a completely new area far from my family and friends. I just haven't settled and I'm ready to move back to somewhere that I'm more familiar with.This plan had been at the back of my mind for a while and I thought that I'd do another year thinking that "who knows what could change in a year?" But, after a hellish week, that's been easily the lowest of my career, I've concluded that my living situation isn't making how I feel at work any better and vice versa. I keep telling myself that I shouldn't be feeling this way this early in my career. Why settle for another year of feeling mediocre when I could do something about it? In short, I'm ready for a change and new start.