1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How do you become a SENCO?

Discussion in 'Special educational needs' started by JaneHalle, Oct 29, 2015.

1. JaneHalle

JaneHalle New commenter

I am a secondary teacher and I would like to become a SENCO. Do I need to take any qualifications before I would be considered for this role? Thanks

2. Sencosfriend

Sencosfriend New commenter

You would need to be able to evidence your ability to advise others on how to effectively respond to students with SEN - in practice this means that most have a dyslexia qualification. I would read the list included in the SEND Code of Practice on what a SENCos job involves so you can judge what skills you already have and what others you would need to gain.

3. minnie me

minnie me Star commenter