1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How do I get out?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by summer1984, Sep 14, 2015.

1. summer1984

summer1984 New commenter

I worked in a school for 6 years and moved to a new school this year. It's horrific - I feel intimidated by the kids, unsupported and I'm in tears every night not sleeping.

I can't bare the thought of being here tomorrow. I've applied for jobs outside of teaching. How soon can I leave? Is it possible to just hand my notice in now for Christmas and explain that I want to go now? It's made me ill in the 2 weeks I've been here.

2. frustum

frustum Star commenter

If you are ill, you need to visit your doctor, and get signed off if necessary.

You are only entitled to resign with effect from Christmas, but if you're really sure, then you could put in your resignation letter that you would be happy to leave earlier if that can be agreed. If the alternative may be that you spend half the term signed off, they may be quite willing to agree to an earlier departure.

It's worth looking at whether there is any prospect of things improving: even if you can afford to leave without a job to go to, the very short stay in your employment history will sound alarm bells, and the reference isn't likely to be good. On the other hand, plenty of agencies and schools have given people the chance they've needed to show that it was just that the school was not right for them, and it sounds as if you're also exploring non-teaching options.

3. jago123

jago123 Established commenter