1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How do I explain it?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by fabulous1, Mar 27, 2012.

1. Hi everyone,
    I'm currently waiting upon a Compromise Agreement to be finalised. I've been teaching for 18 years ,but the past three have been truly awful and I've decided that I cannot ,in any circumstances, return to teaching. My problem is that any financial settlement I gain will not last long(I'm not expecting much!!!) and I do need to support my family ( I already feel guilty at placing them in a precarious financial position- we will have to sell our lovely house !!). I always had great relationships with the kids and ,for me, this was by far the best aspect of the job. I would like to apply for teaching assistant posts for September as I reckon a lower salary but on an, at least 12 month, contract, is preferable to sporadic supply- but how do I go about persuading potential heads that I would make a fantastic TA? and how do I go about explaining that I want out of teaching after 18 years?? Any advice,as ever, would be great

2. greta444

greta444 New commenter

I would go along the lines of wanting a better work/life balance. You can offer so many skills, we wouldn't have any problem employing a teacher as a T.A. Did do a stint as a T.A. myself for a while. It was nice...

3. I feel so sorry for you as I know what it is like having to leave the job you once loved but having to pretend the reason you left wasn't the real reason.