1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How do I answer this inevitable question at parents evening?

Discussion in 'Secondary' started by Imtellingonyou, Jan 28, 2019.

1. Imtellingonyou

Imtellingonyou New commenter

i have a Y8 boy in my set for English who should be in top set; he joined in October and we did not receive any historical data for him. He is incredibly able and should be in set 1 - he stands out in my class so much as there is no one near him in terms of ability and work rate. I try my best to stretch him - it’s a middle school I work in and I’m new to KS3- but I have a ceiling in how far I can take things as I’m finding my feet in KS3. The only reason he has not moved is due to the class size in set 1 being 34 and I have 29 in set 2. I understand why but I worry his parents will ask the question about his setting and I would like to give an honest, professional response. Any suggestions? I’ve already showed the head of English his book and he has been moderated as working at GDS in his analysis work.

Thanks

2. needabreak

needabreak Star commenter

Be honest like you've been here? I was told the very same thing at parents evening about one of the nabs, it can usually works out in time as they get reshuffled due to test results... As long as its not too late.

bonxie likes this.
  3. Weald56

Weald56 Established commenter

You could arrange for the HoD to speak to them, or suggest they speak to the HoD.

4. chatmaw

chatmaw New commenter