1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How could I improve my video tutorials on Chunking and the Grid Method? Please complete the survey.

Discussion in 'Primary' started by kim67ed, Apr 7, 2011.

1. I am a Maths student from the
    University of Bath and am undertaking a Primary PGCE
    next year. As part of a university project I have made two videos on Chunking (for division) and the Grid Method (for multiplication). The videos are aimed at either struggling children or parents who want to help their children with homework.

Please could you help me out by watching the short videos and filling out the quick surveys?
    Chunking video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eF4h76R99_Q

Chunking survey: http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/DK3CJLJ

Grid Method video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hMLf6sQLa40

Grid Method survey: http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/D8BFVSK

IF YOU WATCH THE VIDEOS PLEASE
    COMPLETE THE SURVEYS! I really need to know how to improve for my
    report.

Thank you so much for your help

2. CB123

CB123 New commenter

Hi
    Ive just watch the grid method and thought Id add a quick comment. I do get very particular about teaching of maths and personally feel you should never talk about adding zero's as mathematically this is not correct and will not work when moving onto decimals
    so 20 x 30 is not
    2 x 3 and add 2 zeros
    To make it easier I do 2 x 3 with the children , but we will have discussed that we have made each number 10 times smaller and so after we need to make it 10 times bigger twice. To make a number 10 times bigger we move the digits left once
    so
    2 x 3 = 6
    move the 6 left twice (x10 , x10)