1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How could I have handled this better/differently?

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by crockedpot, Jan 25, 2016.

1. crockedpot

crockedpot New commenter

I have been working in FE for the last six months, teaching functional English and GCSE English in a range of vocational areas. My engineering/construction learners have always been challenging, but I thought I had a handle on things, and behaviour has been (relatively) ok. They find it hard to settle down for any length of time to tasks, but overall, not as bad as I had feared.
    Today, however, one of them appeared to be on his mobile phone during the lesson. I asked 'what are you doing?' and he replied 'playing with my d**k'. Cue mass hysteria as the class of 16 and 17 year old boys erupted with laughter. I am pretty broadminded, and have given the class some lee way in terms of language I would normally consider acceptable (though I do have rules about swearing and general language suitability) but this was, for me, a step too far. I asked him to leave the room with me, took him in the Curriculum Managers office and relayed the tale.
    He was brought back after about ten minutes, apologised (without much sincerity) which I accepted and he came back into the class. I have since been thinking it over and wonder what I should or could have done differently. Did I overreact by asking him to leave the class and should I have just let it go, putting it down to an all male environment where they don't know how to behave, or should I have done the opposite and made more fuss about having him back in the room straight away?