1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How can we reduce maths anxiety?

Discussion in 'Education news' started by TES_Rosaline, May 15, 2019.

1. TES_Rosaline

TES_Rosaline Administrator Staff Member

"I hate maths", "I can’t do it" or "I’m not good with numbers" are some of the common things that people say about their numeracy skills especially when they have to put them to the test, but what can be done to address the issue and help pupils to improve their maths?

‘In March, new research revealed that maths anxiety could be fuelling a numeracy skills crisis – one in ten children in the UK suffers from “despair and rage” when learning maths and 33 per cent of 15- to 16-year-olds reported they got very tense when they had to complete maths homework.

Maths anxiety is clearly widespread and has a significant impact later in life, with poor numeracy levels linked to everything from lower lifetime earnings to poor mental health. Fear of maths-related situations can also affect learning as a whole. This can mean less effective learning patterns on stem subjects in secondary and further education and can even affect vocational choices later in life.’

Jill Cornish is the editorial director of Primary Maths, and Derry Richardson is the head of professional development, Oxford University Press.

What are your views and what do you think needs to be done to tackle the issue?

https://www.tes.com/news/how-can-we-tackle-maths-anxiety

2. phlogiston

phlogiston Star commenter