1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How can we diversify governing bodies?

Discussion in 'Governors' started by hayleymgardner, Mar 5, 2019.

1. hayleymgardner

hayleymgardner New commenter

Good evening,

I am a qualified primary school teacher but am currently taking some time out to complete a masters degree.

I am involved in a project looking at strategies to diversify school governing bodies (across all age ranges). Primarily, this concerns inclusion of more black, asian, ethnic minorities (BAME), and youth in school governing bodies.

I have sent out a questionnaire to governors but have had 0 replies. I just wondered if anybody within this community has any experience within a school governing body?

If so, what do you think are the barriers to inclusion of BAME and youth?

I would be grateful for any input on this subject.

Thanks,

Hayley.

2. Rott Weiler

Rott Weiler Star commenter Forum guide

You might want to contact the NGA (National Governance Association). I recall they have done/are doing some work on this.

Pomza and hayleymgardner like this.
  3. harsh-but-fair

harsh-but-fair Star commenter

They've got more sense ...

Pomza, hayleymgardner and Jesmond12 like this.
  4. Lalad

Lalad Star commenter

Have you ever been to a governors' meeting? If not, I would strongly suggest that you ask to attend a meeting as an observer - it will give you invaluable insight into what goes on and may also give you some clues as to why it's increasingly difficult to persuade any members of the local community to join governing bodies.

5. neddyfonk

neddyfonk Lead commenter