1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How can one class have such an impact?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by FarSideofParadise, Oct 16, 2017.

1. FarSideofParadise

FarSideofParadise New commenter

I have one KS3 class that I absolutely dread every lesson. It baffles me how much they can impact my mood or my enjoyment of lessons.

Not a dilemma as such but I am getting fed up of feeling like I'm fighting a losing battle and getting teary after every lesson.

I'm a bloody good teacher, if I do say so myself, and I've had tougher classes than this lot. I just can't work it out.

TCSC47, steely1, sbkrobson and 2 others like this.
  2. phlogiston

phlogiston Star commenter

Low grade negativity from a reasonably bright group that ought to be achieving well and interacting positively (with each other and the teacher) is often far tougher than the off the wall group with considerable learning difficulties (where you know they can't do much better.)

3. sparkleghirl

sparkleghirl Lead commenter

I have a group like this unfortunately. I only see them once a week which in a way is good but on the other hand isn't helping me to get to know them and to get on top of them. Not sure what advice to offer but you're not alone!

tonymars, pepper5 and Lara mfl 05 like this.
  4. catmother

catmother Lead commenter

I've had classes like that. Sometimes,you don't even see it coming.

Dragonlady30, pepper5 and Lara mfl 05 like this.
  5. marlin

marlin Star commenter Forum guide