1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How can I teach Radiation and Radioactivity?

Discussion in 'Science' started by Cosmic_Rainbow, Mar 13, 2012.

1. Cosmic_Rainbow

Cosmic_Rainbow New commenter

I just starting a topic all around radiation and radioactivity etc and would really appreciate some ideas on what activities i can get the children to do.

Also as a student teacher i have been told i cant use the sources etc so can even demo it for the students

2. Cosmic_Rainbow

I just starting a topic all around radiation and radioactivity etc and would really appreciate some ideas on what activities i can get the children to do.

Also as a student teacher i have been told i cant use the sources etc so can even demo it for the students

3. If you're not actually allowed to handle them yourself what about asking the technician f they could demo while you talk through them?

4. steve_cooke

steve_cooke New commenter

Staticly charge a balloon, hang it up for a couple of hours, then very carefully deflate it and test it with a GM tube, you can get quite a good count and a half life from it - if I remember rightly it is accumulating dust as gaseous radioactive elements (radon) decay into solids.
    We have enough GM tubes for the kids to be able to show that LoSalt has a higher count than background - because of the K-40 in the potassium chloride, supposedly you can show the same thing with brazil nuts and bananas which both have high potassium contents but I've never done it. And gas mantles from the type of gas lamps you use when camping contain thorium.
    But just standing there with a counter clicking due to background is usually enough to get their attention.