1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How can I promote digital citizenship at school?

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by siltdek, Feb 23, 2011.

1. I am an ICT teacher from Argentina. I read a lot about the topic but I don't know how to start.
    We're encountering several problems:
    • Teachers use cell phones during class. Is it allowed in first-world countries?
    • Students tend to use music devices at school. They're not allowed in our country, but it's very difficult to implement.
    • Teachers & Heads don't know themselves how to use the Internet in a responsible way. Which would be the first step you think I can follow to make them engage with the topic?
    We're starting classes soon and I'm working on this initiative to help my institution. Thank you!

2. I am an ICT teacher from Argentina. I read a lot about the topic but I don't know how to start.
    We're encountering several problems:
    • Teachers use cell phones during class. Is it allowed in first-world countries?
    • Students tend to use music devices at school. They're not allowed in our country, but it's very difficult to implement.
    • Teachers & Heads don't know themselves how to use the Internet in a responsible way. Which would be the first step you think I can follow to make them engage with the topic?
    We're starting classes soon and I'm working on this initiative to help my institution. Thank you!

3. I'm also an ICT teacher at an International School and can sympathize.Educating the students about good Digital Citizenship can be a lot of fun but you need to ensure that the message you give is consolidated by the teachers.